No More Heroes: supernatural sleuthing

Mix together murder-mystery, a police procedural and urban fantasy and No More Heroes is what you get: an up-to-date fantasy fable set in an imaginary world of ‘what if’. It’s an attention-grabbing opening episode which establishes a solid central character – one of the few remaining Heroes of the title – whose job is rather…

Freebie Friday: WIN crime-thrillers and sci-fi stories

Wanna win a bundle of brilliant books? You could win all of these titles, from conspiracy thriller to outlaw road-trip, supernatural sleuthing and dystopian short stories   Full details of each book below, but here’s how to enter the competition. To enter, you just have to do two simple things.   **Visit the MMM page…

Decompression: suffocation of the self

Juli Zeh’s powerful psychodrama combines the serene rapture of the underwater environment with the claustrophobic collapse of identity under pressure. It’s unpredictable, offbeat and edgy; unsettling and almost incidentally erotic. Zeh introduces a pair of snakes into paradise when a fractious couple come to learn scuba diving at an isolated holiday village in the Canary…

Reaping The Dark: an occult adventure a la Guy Ritchie…

This is ‘only’ a novella, but author Gary McMahon has crafted a satisfying, self-contained story which works on several levels. It’s a smart, fast-paced action-adventure. It’s a heist-gone-wrong romp where the bad guys (and some of the good guys) get a gruesome comeuppance. It’s an exploration of maturity, of accepting the responsibilities of adulthood. It’s…

Stettin Station: a sophisticated WW2 spy story

David Downing’s Station series has developed into a masterful fictionalised account of life in Nazi Germany, recommended for fans of Philip Kerr’s Berlin Noir or Alan Furst’s sophisticated WW2 spy stories. Stettin Station is the third in the Station series, and you are definitely advised to read the first two – Zoo and then Silesian…

Reviver: clever crime / psy-fi crossover

Reviver is a very strong first novel, an intriguing mix of an imaginative concept and the return of an ancient, end-of-the-world evil. However, it’s not a horror story by any means; more of a supernatural / psy-fi thriller. Most of the plot revolves around untangling the background to revival, how it might be used by…

Barricade: the end of the world all over again

If Barricade had been a little less hyped by its publicist then I might have enjoyed it more. Instead, the sketchy characters and derivative plot struggled to live up to the publisher’s promise of a ‘cold-blooded yet magnetic’ genetically-engineered artificial anti-hero to rival Takeshi Kovacs. That comparison with Richard Morgan’s brilliant Altered Carbon series did…