Ramus: gritty British crime debut

This unpredictable debut novel is massively informed by the author’s first-hand experience of every day British policing. Tony Ryan brings immense depth and detail of actual hands-on police work to his tale, down to every minor detail. Like the officers who illicitly smoke in a squad car and stink it up; the intricacy of the…

Rapid Reviews: crime and punishment

If you’re seeking mystery and thrills then we’ve got a cracking selection of killer crime fiction for you. British detectives, fatal females; private eyes and serial killers; psychological page-turners and a spooky crime unit, from indie authors and bestselling big names. Here are the recent reads that we loved (and one we didn’t!) ALTERED LIFE…

CzechM8: vivid and violent

The clocks have just gone back so you have an extra hour in your day. What to do with that bonus free time? Try the new quick thriller from Frank Westworth, a pithy mix of hardboiled humour and blunt force trauma. CzechM8 comes recommended for readers who enjoy Elmore Leonard, James Crumley, Lawrence Block and…

Crime Time: recent releases and the best new books

Our regular round-up of intriguing new releases features indie authors and big-name bestsellers. This time we’ve got gritty Britcrime, a new Nordic noir author and the best-known heroine in Scandi crime, an English mystery, a radical interpretation of domestic noir, an American psychopath and hardboiled pulp fiction – and a dark fantasy set in an…

Rapid Reviews: short, sweet and savage

Cops, robbers, spies and killers: here’s half a dozen crime-thrillers with a little bit of everything – including a blood-soaked American roadtrip, top-notch Nordic noir, British political conspiracy, psychopathic siblings and the John Cardinal book they didn’t make into a TV series… ROBBERS by Christopher Cook One of those one-hit-wonder authors who delivered brilliance and…

One Last Prayer For The Rays: gritty BritCrime

This is no humdrum parochial British police procedural – in fact, with all the pigs, blood, gore, kidnapping and brutality it’s more like Hannibal than Morse. Which of course snagged my attention at the get-go… The gruesome abduction of a loner schoolboy is just the start of a deftly executed campaign of revenge against an…

Rapid Reviews: six slices of murder and mystery

Hardboiled Brit crime, an American classic, a medical thriller, a swift slice of satisfying savagery, an old-fashioned private-eye investigation and an FBI serial killer profiler – settle down for this month’s selection of half a dozen different approaches to the crime-thriller genre… THE ROAD by Cormac McCarthy Yes, this is the famous post-apocalyptic Great American…

The Killing Sisters: back from oblivion

The Killing Sisters trilogy of compelling crime-thrillers is once again complete! The titles were unavailable for a short while, but now all three books are back on the shelves at Amazon in paperback and ebook editions. Mixing calculating killers and pitch-black wit, the story starts in A Last Act Of Charity. We meet jaded assassin and…