Rapid Reviews: crime and punishment

If you’re seeking mystery and thrills then we’ve got a cracking selection of killer crime fiction for you. British detectives, fatal females; private eyes and serial killers; psychological page-turners and a spooky crime unit, from indie authors and bestselling big names. Here are the recent reads that we loved (and one we didn’t!) ALTERED LIFE…

Pork Pie Hat by Frank Westworth

Originally posted on Punk Noir Magazine:
Something suitably sinister for All Hallow’s Eve… The door slipped silently closed behind the last happy customer. She left singing, her departing tune humming on the condensing air, her own take on the last verse of the last song she’d heard. The last song she’d hear; the last song…

Halloween Read: The Liberator

It’s the spookiest day of the year, so settle down for a slice of supernatural noir, night stalkers and silver bullets from the maestro of menace, Paul D Brazill… Weather the storm, they say. Let the dust settle. Bide your time. Wait. But what if that storm never stops raging? What then? Even if you…

CzechM8: vivid and violent

The clocks have just gone back so you have an extra hour in your day. What to do with that bonus free time? Try the new quick thriller from Frank Westworth, a pithy mix of hardboiled humour and blunt force trauma. CzechM8 comes recommended for readers who enjoy Elmore Leonard, James Crumley, Lawrence Block and…

Rapid Reviews: the good, the bad and the brilliant

MMM’s tireless team of criminal masterminds have been sifting the wow! from the wtf? in this month’s selection of international thrillers and gritty BritCrime. Read on for hardboiled Aussie noir, death in Bethlehem and a southern-gothic serial killer story which crosses one too many lines… BAD DEBTS by Peter Temple The first of the Jack…