THE REDEMPTION OF CHARM

Originally posted on BOOKSPLAINER:
The Redemption of Charm Frank WestworthKilling Sisters Book 3This is my first venture into the world of the killing sisters and, pleasingly, there’s more to this book than I was anticipating. The violence, and for that matter the sex, is pretty graphic, satisfying for anyone Jonesing for a blood fest, but…

Rapid Reviews: criminal activity

Strong female protagonists abound in this month’s selection of crime-thrillers – but gender balance is maintained by a couple of old-school alpha males and a truly unusual unreliable narrator. Read on for Scandi crime, wartime noir, gritty BritCrime and a psychological investigation from indie authors and big-name best-sellers… THE SPINNING MAN by George Harrar An…

CzechM8: dark wit and lethal weapons

The life of a contract killer can be complicated. JJ Stoner’s boss wants him to kill someone. His best friend’s girlfriend also wants him to kill someone. His best friend could kill him for getting cosy with the wrong woman. Stoner just wants to ride his Harley – but the forces of law and order…

Pork Pie Hat by Frank Westworth

Originally posted on Punk Noir Magazine:
Something suitably sinister for All Hallow’s Eve… The door slipped silently closed behind the last happy customer. She left singing, her departing tune humming on the condensing air, her own take on the last verse of the last song she’d heard. The last song she’d hear; the last song…

Halloween Read: The Liberator

It’s the spookiest day of the year, so settle down for a slice of supernatural noir, night stalkers and silver bullets from the maestro of menace, Paul D Brazill… Weather the storm, they say. Let the dust settle. Bide your time. Wait. But what if that storm never stops raging? What then? Even if you…

CzechM8: vivid and violent

The clocks have just gone back so you have an extra hour in your day. What to do with that bonus free time? Try the new quick thriller from Frank Westworth, a pithy mix of hardboiled humour and blunt force trauma. CzechM8 comes recommended for readers who enjoy Elmore Leonard, James Crumley, Lawrence Block and…

Goliath: a giant killer

Something strange happened with Goliath – it’s brilliant, but it’s almost invisible. Think of True Detective, and think how much hype there is with each new season. Goliath, by contrast, almost sneaked past us with its stealthy understatement. Perhaps that’s because it’s one of the early made-for-streaming shows produced by Amazon Studios. Perhaps its exclusivity…