Pork Pie Hat by Frank Westworth

Originally posted on Punk Noir Magazine:
Something suitably sinister for All Hallow’s Eve… The door slipped silently closed behind the last happy customer. She left singing, her departing tune humming on the condensing air, her own take on the last verse of the last song she’d heard. The last song she’d hear; the last song…

Halloween Read: The Liberator

It’s the spookiest day of the year, so settle down for a slice of supernatural noir, night stalkers and silver bullets from the maestro of menace, Paul D Brazill… Weather the storm, they say. Let the dust settle. Bide your time. Wait. But what if that storm never stops raging? What then? Even if you…

CzechM8: vivid and violent

The clocks have just gone back so you have an extra hour in your day. What to do with that bonus free time? Try the new quick thriller from Frank Westworth, a pithy mix of hardboiled humour and blunt force trauma. CzechM8 comes recommended for readers who enjoy Elmore Leonard, James Crumley, Lawrence Block and…

Goliath: a giant killer

Something strange happened with Goliath – it’s brilliant, but it’s almost invisible. Think of True Detective, and think how much hype there is with each new season. Goliath, by contrast, almost sneaked past us with its stealthy understatement. Perhaps that’s because it’s one of the early made-for-streaming shows produced by Amazon Studios. Perhaps its exclusivity…

The Killing Sisters: back from oblivion

The Killing Sisters trilogy of compelling crime-thrillers is once again complete! The titles were unavailable for a short while, but now all three books are back on the shelves at Amazon in paperback and ebook editions. Mixing calculating killers and pitch-black wit, the story starts in A Last Act Of Charity. We meet jaded assassin and…